Washington Writers' Publishing HouseWashington Writers' Publishing House


Washington Writers’ Publishing House is excited to announce the winners of our 2018 contests in fiction and poetry:

Jona Colson is the winner of the 2018 Jean Feldman Poetry Prize for his collection, Said Through Glass. Jona received his BA in English and Spanish from Goucher College and a Master of Fine Arts degree from American University. His poems have appeared in The Southern Review, Ploughshares, Subtropics, The Massachusetts Review, and elsewhere. His interviews and translations can be seen in The Writer’s Chronicle, Prairie Schooner, and Tupelo Quarterly. He teaches at Montgomery College in Maryland and lives in Washington, DC. 
Caroline Bock’s debut short story collection, Carry Her Home, is the winner of the 2018 Washington Writers’ Publishing House Fiction Prize. She is the author of the young adult novels: Lie and Before My Eyes from St. Martin’s Press. She is the winner of the 2016 Writer Magazine short story prize judged by Colum McCann. Her short stories have been published or are forthcoming with Akashic Books, Delmarva Review, Fiction Southeast, Gargoyle, 100 Word Story, and Vestal Review as well as several anthologies. In 2018, she was awarded a Scholars & Artists project grant from the Montgomery County Arts & Humanities Council. Currently, a lecturer in the English Department at Marymount University, she is at work on a new novel set in 2099. She lives in Maryland.
Both books will be published in October. Congratulations to both award winners and thanks to all the poets and fiction writers who submitted their fine work to this year’s contest.