The WWPH Team

Caroline Bock, Co-President

Caroline’s short story collection, Carry Her Home, received the 2018 WWPH Fiction Prize. She is the author of two young adult novels, LIE and Before My Eyes from St. Martin’s Press. Her short fiction has appeared in many journals and is the winner of first prizes from Driftwood Press and The Writer magazine. She is the co-editor of WWPH Writes and the fiction editor of WWPH’s 2021 anthology, This Is What America Looks Like: Fiction and Poetry from D.C. Maryland, and Virginia.

Jona Colson, Co-President

Jona’s poetry collection, Said Through Glass, won the 2018 Jean Feldman Poetry Prize from WWPH. He teaches English at Montgomery College and is the co-editor of WWPH Writes and the poetry editor of This Is What America Looks Like: Poetry and Fiction from D.C., Maryland, and Virginia.

Kathleen Wheaton, Vice President, Fiction

Kathleen’s collection, Aliens and Other Stories, received the 2013 WWPH Fiction Prize. Her fiction has appeared in many journals and she is the recipient of five Maryland State Arts Council grants.

Holly Karapetkova, Vice President, Poetry

Holly is the author of Words We Might One Day Say from WWPH. She’s the Poet Laureate of Arlington, Virginia, and teaches at Marymount University.

Elizabeth Bruce, Treasurer

Elizabeth’s novel, And Silent Left the Place, won WWPH’s Fiction Prize (distinctions: ForeWord Magazine/Texas Institute of Letters). She has published fiction in the USA and abroad. For information on donating to WWPH or on The Washington Writers’ Publishing House 501c3 status contact Elizabeth Bruce at wwphpress @

Melanie Hatter, Secretary

Melanie is the author of two novels and one short story collection. Her most recent novel, Malawi’s Sisters, was selected by Edwidge Danticat as the winner of the inaugural Kimbilio National Fiction Prize and was published by Four Way Books in 2019. Her debut novel, The Color of My Soul, won the 2011 Washington Writers’ Publishing House Fiction Prize, and Let No One Weep for Me, Stories of Love and Loss was released in 2015.

Robert Williams, Vice President, Production

Robert is the author of the collection Strivers and Other Stories, winner of the 2016 WWPH Fiction Prize. A resident of Washington, D.C., he is the recipient of four Larry Neal Writers’ Awards given by the D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities.